Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: A/C Fan runs when furnace is turned on  (Read 538 times)
keelhauler
Sr. Member
****

Helpful Rating: 38
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Sunlit Maple
ExtColor: Sunlit - no paint
Location: Westlake, OH
________
Posts: 96



View Profile WWW
« on: November 03, 2013, 09:25:30 pm »

I'm not sure what my wife did but now when I hit thermostat 3 times to run the furnace, the roof air fan runs. The furnace does come on and responds to the thermostat setting but the only way to turn the roof fan off is to turn the thermostat off or turn off circuit breaker #4 (Roof A/C).
It must be a control system failure of some sort, any ideas of what to check further or how to go back to normal?
Logged



John
2 Frazzled
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 81
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May 2013
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2013
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Sunlit & Cherry
ExtColor: Sunlit
Location: On the road full time (prev. Maryland)
________
Posts: 430


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 06:43:33 am »

If your system is the same as ours, there are three settings for the fan: Lo, High and Auto. Set the fan to "auto" THEN turn on the furnace. This also makes it so the fan only runs when heat is needed with the heat strip instead of all the time. Took us a while to figure that out.
Logged

John, Holly, Chloe & Snickers (The "nanny' cat)

Plan at least three years on the road - living, laughing, working and playing in the PC.
GoPhoenix
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 12/2010
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2011
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Slate grey/Cherry
ExtColor: Full body grey
Location: Trenton, Ohio
________
Posts: 191



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 07:27:21 am »

keelhauler, heres your solution.  We had the same problem which was that the fan was set to ON rather than to AUTO. Click the button for the fan (first click), then change the fan setting to AUTO. Should work fine. If you use the AC and the fan is set to ON, the fan will run continuously, but will go on and off with the AC if the fan is set to AUTO.
Logged

I remember very few of the things that Ive spent money to buy, but I remember all of the places that Ive spent money to see.
keelhauler
Sr. Member
****

Helpful Rating: 38
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Sunlit Maple
ExtColor: Sunlit - no paint
Location: Westlake, OH
________
Posts: 96



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 07:40:16 am »

Thanks to both of you. It seems that my wife just started hitting buttons then I was left with wondering why it didn't work. Works like a champ now. Cheer
Logged



John
GoPhoenix
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 12/2010
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2011
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Slate grey/Cherry
ExtColor: Full body grey
Location: Trenton, Ohio
________
Posts: 191



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2013, 12:31:44 pm »

It's good to have a wife that pushes your buttons. Especially when it's the right ones...   Wink
Logged

I remember very few of the things that Ive spent money to buy, but I remember all of the places that Ive spent money to see.
Paul/Marilyn
Sr. Member
****

Helpful Rating: 14
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 07/12
Model: 2100
ModelYear: 2013
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Sterling
ExtColor: Standard
Location: Benbrook, Texas
________
Posts: 88


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2013, 05:29:39 pm »

Just by chance the same thing happened to us this past weekend. Don't know how we avoided it last winter. Of course it's always the wife's fault (and actually, I think I was the one who did it). We spent a chilly 35 night but luckily do have a small space heater. When all else fails, read the manual! We discovered "the fan on Auto and then select furnace" and it worked. Hurray!  LOL
Marilyn & Paul
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: