Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: winterizing mh  (Read 2952 times)
mciai2000
SuperHero Member

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 09/2011
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: full body night shadow
________

View Profile
« on: October 03, 2010, 09:18:45 pm »

Hello All: 

It is near that time here in NE PA where we put away our campers and winterize them.  Since this is my first year with her I am wondering what you all do.  Do you use anti-freeze or blow out the lines?  My old Winnebago was easy to add anti-freeze.  Looking at the Phoenix I am thinking it would be easier to blow out the lines.  Any input?

DJM shrug

family is a passion...work is a requirement
2012 2552 full body paint(Phoenix # 2)
TomHanlon
SuperHero Member
PCPC

Helpful Rating: 193
________
PurchDate: 11/11/11
IntColor: Cherry
ExtColor: full paint Cafe
________

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2010, 07:53:50 am »

I do both, blow out the lines and then add anti-freeze. Sometimes I am one very big chicken. First I drain all the lines, fresh water tank and the water heater. Then I put my air plug into the water line input and blow out the lines, by opening and closing one faucet (cold, then hot) at a time. I then turn the hot water bypass and using the anti-freeze pickup tube, I add the anti-freeze. This will be my first year with this motorhome but this is what I have done for the last five motorhomes. I had the anti-freeze pickup tube put in when it was built. Come to think about it, I don't know if there is a water heater bypass and where it would be. Can anyone help me out here? I would hate to have to buy six gallons of anti-freeze just to fill the water heater and one for all the lines.

Tom Hanlon
Current PC 2012 2552 Full paint Cafe
First PC 2010 2350 Full paint Umbra
mciai2000
SuperHero Member

________
________

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 10:28:51 pm »

Tom: