Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Remote Entry Locks Using Key Fobs - Buy Them & Program Them Yourself  (Read 701 times)
ron.dittmer
SuperHero Member
PCPC
*******

Helpful Rating: 181
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: June 2007
Model: 2350 Ford
ModelYear: 2007
Slide: No
IntColor: Cherry&Green
ExtColor: FullBody Gray
Location: Dundee, IL
________
Posts: 1977



View Profile WWW
« on: February 02, 2011, 02:46:22 pm »

A discussion about "remote entry" and key fobs, inspired me to look further into this.

This may apply to most or all model years, but for my 2007 chassis, the owners manual has a procedure for the owner to program as many as 4 remote key fobs by themself.  This is the procedure as described on page 60 in my manual.  It also has a diagram illustrating the positions of the key.

How to reprogram your remote entry transmitters
You must have all remote entry transmitters (maximum of four)
available before beginning this procedure. If all remote entry transmitters
are not present during programming procedure, the ones missing during
programming will no longer operate the vehicle.
Note: Ensure the brake pedal is not
depressed during this sequence.
To reprogram the remote entry
transmitters:
1. Ensure the vehicle is
electronically unlocked.
2. Place the key in the ignition and
turn from the (2) LOCK position to
(3) OFF.
3. Cycle eight times rapidly (within 10 seconds) between the (3) OFF
position and (4) ON. Note: The eighth turn must end in the (4) ON
position.
4. The doors will lock, then unlock, to confirm that the programming
mode has been activated.
5. Within 20 seconds press any button on the remote entry transmitter.
Note: If more than 20 seconds have passed you will need to start the
procedure over again.
6. The doors will lock, then unlock, to confirm that this remote entry
transmitter has been programmed.
7. Repeat Steps 4 and 5 to program each additional remote entry
transmitter (up to four transmitters).
8. Turn the ignition to the (3) OFF position after you have finished
programming all of the remote entry transmitters.
9. The doors will lock, then unlock, to confirm that the programming
mode has been exited


In another discussion, someone stated they are missing the electronic receiver in their vehicle so if you too lack that receiver, you would have to buy one.

I'll have to buy some fobs and try this myself.  Doing some quick shopping on Ebay, it seems I can buy 4 new fobs for $70 total, including shipping.  I have made contact with a new fob seller, and will report back to you on my findings.  $70 for 4 new fobs seems too good to be true.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2011, 03:28:39 pm by ron.dittmer » Logged

Ron Dittmer (wife Irene) 2007 Model 2350 Without A Slideout
Our Rig Is Available For Viewing Any Time Of Year In Dundee, IL
Stored At Home In Our Heated Garage (Well-Lit & Warm Comfort In Winter)
gl1500
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 52
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May. 2014
Model: 2551
ModelYear: 2551/2014
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Hickory
ExtColor: Cafe'
Location: Idaho
________
Posts: 173


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 04:54:47 pm »

Ron,
    I will be curious to see how this works.  The key statement in your write-up is "How to REPROGRAM your remote entry transmitters" and is re-stated again in the instructions.  Let us know how it goes.
   Bob
Logged
lghjr
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 40
________
OwnPC: No
NewUsed: Used
PurchDate: Used to own a 2700
Model: 2700
ModelYear: 2007
Slide: Yes
________
Posts: 306



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 06:34:17 pm »

So I am thinking out loud here, if you go through the pre-programming sequence with the ign switch, and the vehicle does the lock unlock thing, does that confirm you have the remote module??

FYI I see some fobs cheaper than 4 for $70.
Logged
gradygal
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 89
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: March 2012
Model: 2910
ModelYear: 2013
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cherry
ExtColor: slate gray full body paint
Location: Florida
________
Posts: 630


our 3rd PC--Custom 2910


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 07:42:19 pm »

Ron
You might check with your local Ford dealer. He can run a vehicle information report with the VIN #.
We are waiting for our new 2551. I took the VIN # to our local Ford dealer. The report lists all of the features that the chassis has been ordered with. On our printout, it states that it was ordered with power door locking, less side door security lockset  and less door entry remote control unit.   Without the remote control unit, remote locks are not avalabile from Ford. Hopefully yours will have the remote control unit.
I think it all depends on how the chassis  is ordered.
George
Logged

Judi and George Nicholson
Punta Gorda FL
ragoodsp
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 37
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May 5, 2012
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cafe
ExtColor: cafe
Location: New Hampshire
________
Posts: 284


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 09:08:20 pm »

Good evening Gents:
 
I have gone thru the entire programing process as described in the Ford manual with the two fobs that I purchased from Ford and the process did not work (locks did not lock/unlock) and for that reason I took the vehicle to Ford; they did the same sequence as I did and got nothing; they then used their scan tool and again got nothing.  At that point they gave up. As I stated in previous posts my vehicles line sheet  did state no remote module installed.  I would recommend that you request from Ford the line sheet for your vehicles since it does have a lot of good info.   
 I have no answers at this point as to why my particular vehicle was spected as it was but it was.  I am sure someone who trully knows how to add the module and program it can make it all work.  In Elkhart I am sure there are Ford techs floating around that know what to do and how to do it.  before I purchased any fobs I would certainly check to see if your chassis has the module installed or not?  My Ford dealer was nice and took the fobs back with no questions asked.  Thanks
Logged
ragoodsp
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 37
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May 5, 2012
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cafe
ExtColor: cafe
Location: New Hampshire
________
Posts: 284


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2011, 09:17:04 pm »

Folks:

I would be very careful ordering fobs from E-Bay or some of the other companies on the web...I did it once and the fobs  I got were badly used and one did not work...many come from stolen or wrecked vehicles; not exactly the way I like to do business.  Thanks
Logged
ron.dittmer
SuperHero Member
PCPC
*******

Helpful Rating: 181
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: June 2007
Model: 2350 Ford
ModelYear: 2007
Slide: No
IntColor: Cherry&Green
ExtColor: FullBody Gray
Location: Dundee, IL
________
Posts: 1977



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2011, 01:52:07 pm »

I called my local Ford dealer today.  I gave him the last 8 digits of my VIN.  He said I lack the module that is required for remote entry.  So no remote entry for me.

ADDING Later That Evening:  I went into the motor home tonight and did the 8 cycle key turning sequence.  Yep, nothing happened.  That confirmed my 2007 E350 chassis is not "Remote Entry" ready.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2011, 08:05:15 pm by ron.dittmer » Logged

Ron Dittmer (wife Irene) 2007 Model 2350 Without A Slideout
Our Rig Is Available For Viewing Any Time Of Year In Dundee, IL
Stored At Home In Our Heated Garage (Well-Lit & Warm Comfort In Winter)
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: