Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Solar panels  (Read 1049 times)
Lou

Helpful Rating: 0
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: Used
PurchDate: 02/2011
Model: 2350 Ford
ModelYear: 2009
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: grey
________

View Profile
« on: October 03, 2011, 07:27:55 pm »

Hi ,  My name is Lou and I am a newbie to the PC forum. We got a great deal on a 2009 2350 with slide and only 7400 mi. We really like the Cruiser but health problems (now resolved) kept us close to home this year. We had sold a Chinook  with a solar charger which kept the coach batteries fully charged . Has anyone installed solar on a PC? Don't know if what's under the fiberglass roof will hold the mounting screws. Thanks!
billy
SuperHero Member

Helpful Rating: 73
________
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: Feb, 6 2011. Same day Packers won super bowl
Model: 3100
________

Best Friends

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2011, 09:41:45 pm »

Hello Lou, my name is billy. we don't do enough dry camping to warrant a large solar. I bought one from northern tool, 15w just enough to keep the batteries up when in storage. I also have a portable 80w, folds up and easy to move.   http://www.rvsolarnow.com/
Check-um out. billy
« Last Edit: October 03, 2011, 11:33:59 pm by billy » Logged

Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
Lou

________
________

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2011, 10:29:19 am »

Thanks Billy. I am thinking about a 30 watt which I believe was on the Chinook. Did you screw your panel to the roof? The Chinook was factory installed so it had plenty of tie-down support. I worry about it flying off while doing 70 down the interstate. With the Z flush mounting kit, there are only 4 screws holding it.
billy
SuperHero Member

Helpful Rating: 73
________
PurchDate: Feb, 6 2011. Same day Packers won super bowl
Model: 3100
________

Best Friends

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2011, 12:13:07 pm »