Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: San Con - Auto Drain Valve Motor  (Read 373 times)
Barry-Sue
SuperHero Member

Helpful Rating: 327
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 10/17/11
Model: 2551
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Cherry
ExtColor: Classic Umber
________

View Profile
« on: April 15, 2014, 11:04:47 am »

We experienced a failure with one of our Auto Drain Motors on the way home from Florida this year.  After we got home I disassembled the Auto Drain Motor.  Once disassembled the failure was easy to spot.  The drive gear was split in half and just fell off the drive shaft.  I called Barker Manufacturing (http://www.barkermfg.com/autodrain.html) at 1-888-367-6978 and ordered a drive gear that they supplied at no cost.

Barker Manufacturing provides no instructions on how to open the Auto Drain plastic housing.  I studied the installation manual carefully before I started and here is what I did to open the plastic housing.

1.  Turn off DC power at the Store/Use Switch.
2.  Remove the "Strain Relief" device from the front cover.
3.  Remove the two bolts that attach the Auto Drain to the valve.
4.  The front cover and the base are held together by friction.  Place a large screwdriver in the slot below and to the right of the Patent Label and twist.  The front cover will start to separate from the base.  Continue around the housing until the front cover is completely separated from the base.
5.  Remove the four screws holding the motor assembly in place.
6.  At this point, I had access to the drive gear.

NOTE:  Check to see if the Auto Drain is attached via a connector or butt splices to the operating switch.  On my 2012 2551, the Auto Drain is connected to the operating switch via butt splices.  I chose to leave it connected.