Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Electric step dead  (Read 638 times)
dickreid1
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 38
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: Feb. 2012
Model: 2910
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
Location: FL
________
Posts: 106


All 48 States, boarder Provinces and Maritimes


View Profile
« on: April 03, 2012, 07:35:33 pm »

It is a single step.   It quit this afternoon.  The wall switch has no effect.  The door switch has no effect. Where is the step fuse/breaker?  What else to do for trouble shooting?

Dick in FL
Logged
billy
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 72
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: Feb, 6 2011. Same day Packers won super bowl
Model: 3100
Slide: Yes
Location: Coarsegold, Ca. About 20-25 miles S/W Yosemite
________
Posts: 760


Best Friends


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 07:59:04 pm »

At the kick panel on drivers side the is a 5 amp fuse
Logged

Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
gradygal
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 89
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: March 2012
Model: 2910
ModelYear: 2013
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cherry
ExtColor: slate gray full body paint
Location: Florida
________
Posts: 630


our 3rd PC--Custom 2910


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2012, 08:06:46 pm »

Dick

The fuses for the step are located behind a panel beside the engine hood release. To access the fuses, remove the small panel directly behind the hood release. Next, pull the panel from the side wall. The door seal will release the panel as the panel is pulled toward the center of the cab. I think there are 4 or 5 fuses. Each fuse is in an individual holder.

Good Luck

George
Logged

Judi and George Nicholson
Punta Gorda FL
ragoodsp
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 37
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May 5, 2012
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cafe
ExtColor: cafe
Location: New Hampshire
________
Posts: 288


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2012, 08:07:54 pm »

Dick:
I would check the slide on spade fitting that goes into the right side bottom of the door button switch, might have some corrosion on it or the ground terminal is corroded.  Best of luck.
Logged
billy
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 72
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: Feb, 6 2011. Same day Packers won super bowl
Model: 3100
Slide: Yes
Location: Coarsegold, Ca. About 20-25 miles S/W Yosemite
________
Posts: 760


Best Friends


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2012, 09:21:43 pm »

Good idea, I cleaned all I could find then with Liquid Tape I sealed all fittings I could find.
Logged

Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
TomHanlon
SuperHero Member
PCPC
*******

Helpful Rating: 189
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 11/11/11
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Cherry
ExtColor: full paint Cafe
Location: Maryland
________
Posts: 1084



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2012, 08:25:03 am »

My step stopped working last week. The PC had been sitting since last Thanksgiving. I would go out and start it every two weeks and let it run for 5 to 10 minutes. Apparently this was not enough to keep the engine battery charged. The battery was down to 7 percent. I charged the battery and now the step works again. The step is wired into the engine battery so it will work even if the house batteries are turned off.
Logged

Tom Hanlon
Current PC 2012 2552 Full paint Cafe
First PC 2010 2350 Full paint Umbra
dickreid1
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 38
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: Feb. 2012
Model: 2910
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
Location: FL
________
Posts: 106


All 48 States, boarder Provinces and Maritimes


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2012, 02:03:03 pm »

I found the problem.  It looks like the 3/8" bolt that presses the switch was set a bit too long.  This put pressure  at an angle so the switch button was gradually deformed slightly to the side. Finally the tilted button jammed in and ceased to function.

PC is sending a replacement.  Until then I have fussed with the button so it works with manual intervention and replaced the bolt with one set a little shorter.  At least the steps can now be made to deploy.

Thanks all for the quick responses.
Logged
aimee
Administrator
SuperHero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 61
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
Model: 2100
Slide: Yes
Location: KY
________
Posts: 590



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2012, 06:48:42 pm »

You guys are awesome! Cheer Welcome to the forum, Dick, and thanks everyone for all the help.
Logged

Aimee, Webmistress
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: