Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: furnace question  (Read 853 times)
mciai2000
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 09/2011
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: full body night shadow
Location: Pennsylvania
________
Posts: 360



View Profile
« on: May 13, 2012, 05:33:10 pm »

Hello all:

Finally had the chance to take our 2552 out for the first time.  Purchased last Oct and did not get a chance to camp in it.  Anyway, the Dometic control for the furnace/ac system is different than our old 2350.  I wanted to run the heat on Friday night and pressed the on button till the green light was at the furnace marking.  Immediately the blower on the roof mounted ac unit came on and the furnace on the floor never started.  Because I wanted heat I later turned on the heat strip on the roof mounted ac and had heat that way.  My question is, " how do you turn on the furnace?" 

David
Logged

family is a passion...work is a requirement
2012 2552 full body paint(Phoenix # 2)
Barry-Sue
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 330
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 10/17/11
Model: 2551
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Cherry
ExtColor: Classic Umber
Location: Michigan
________
Posts: 785


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 05:48:59 pm »

David,


    Sounds like you did exactly as you were suppose to do.  Green light at furnace should turn on furnace.  What happens when you put it on Cool - does the furnace come on or the AC?  Maybe they are wired wrong.

Sue
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 05:51:43 pm by Barry-Sue » Logged

Barry and Sue 
Current   2012 2551 w/Slide
Previous 2008 2350 w/Slide
gradygal
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 93
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: March 2012
Model: 2910
ModelYear: 2013
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cherry
ExtColor: slate gray full body paint
Location: Florida
________
Posts: 632


our 3rd PC--Custom 2910


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 05:58:27 pm »

David
 
The only thing I can think of is a lack of propane going to the furnace. Can you light your stove? When I turn my propane back on after a long storage, the propane takes a long time to reach the stove.

George
Logged

Judi and George Nicholson
Punta Gorda FL
TomHanlon
SuperHero Member
PCPC
*******

Helpful Rating: 193
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 11/11/11
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Cherry
ExtColor: full paint Cafe
Location: Maryland
________
Posts: 1120



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2012, 06:37:26 pm »

David, I just went out to the  PC and what you are trying to do is exactly what I did and mine worked correctly. I have to agree with there must be a set of wires switched. Try each option and see what happens. Then call the factory on Monday. I don't think that the lack of LPG would cause it to switch to the A/C heat strip, but I could be wrong.
Logged

Tom Hanlon
Current PC 2012 2552 Full paint Cafe
First PC 2010 2350 Full paint Umbra
mciai2000
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 09/2011
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: full body night shadow
Location: Pennsylvania
________
Posts: 360



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2012, 07:43:59 pm »

Well,  I will try the furnace again.  Maybe the gas was not getting to it.  It was strange though because the ac blower came on within 2 seconds of turning the furnace on.  The blower motor of the furnace never came on.  I turned the system on and off a  few times and same thing always happened.  I did not try the ac as I was cold to begin with. Now that I am home I can cycle through the system and check them out.  I thought I might have a wire problem too.....Will keep you posted.

DJM
Logged

family is a passion...work is a requirement
2012 2552 full body paint(Phoenix # 2)
ragoodsp
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 38
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: May 5, 2012
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: cafe
ExtColor: cafe
Location: New Hampshire
________
Posts: 289


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2012, 09:29:54 am »

Folks:

I honestly do not think there is anything wrong with the wiring or gas supply.  I had the exact situation with my new 3100 where both the heat strip and the furnance would come on at the same time; I have found that if I click thru the functions very fast and end up on the furnace setting just the furnace comes on.  I realize this is not very  scientific and I have yet to read the instructions completely for the thermostat  but it worked great for me all weekend.  I have yet to leave both the heat strip and the furnace on to see if perhaps the heat strip times out in a min. or two and just the furnace stays on.  I honestly think it is merely the way the digitial thermostat is programed.  Thanks
Logged
ron.dittmer
SuperHero Member
PCPC
*******

Helpful Rating: 179
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: June 2007
Model: 2350 Ford
ModelYear: 2007
Slide: No
IntColor: Cherry&Green
ExtColor: FullBody Gray
Location: Dundee, IL
________
Posts: 2037



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2012, 01:23:38 pm »

Just sharing this experience as a "possibile" contribution.

In 2007 with a brand new PC,  the first cold night was spent at Brainard Lake, CO (10,300 elevation) so we wanted to use the furnace, but it didn't work.  In despiration I removed the outside access panel and noticed a switch.  I flipped it and the furnace worked perfectly and has ever since.

Maybe you too have a hidden switch that simply needs to be flipped.

Just a caution about the furnace.  Do NOT EVER, NEVER run the furnace with the access panel removed.  It sucks the LP exhaust right inside through the ducts.  If your PC is older and the detector goes off with the furnace running, it is possible the foam seal has deteriorated and the exhaust is getting sucked inside.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 01:29:19 pm by ron.dittmer » Logged

Ron Dittmer (wife Irene) 2007 Model 2350 Without A Slideout
Our Rig Is Available For Viewing Any Time Of Year In Dundee, IL
Stored At Home In Our Heated Garage (Well-Lit & Warm Comfort In Winter)
GoPhoenix
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 12/2010
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2011
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Slate grey/Cherry
ExtColor: Full body grey
Location: Trenton, Ohio
________
Posts: 192



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 01:50:25 pm »

mciai2000, heres your solution.  We had the same problem which was that the fan was set to ON rather than to AUTO. Click the button for the fan (first click), then change the fan setting to AUTO. Should work fine. If you use the AC and the fan is set to ON, the fan will run continuously, but will go on and off with the AC if the fan is set to AUTO.
Logged

I remember very few of the things that Ive spent money to buy, but I remember all of the places that Ive spent money to see.
mciai2000
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 09/2011
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: full body night shadow
Location: Pennsylvania
________
Posts: 360



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2012, 01:21:38 pm »

Thanks GO Phoenix. I hope that is the ticket.  I will give it a whirl and let you know.

DJM
Logged

family is a passion...work is a requirement
2012 2552 full body paint(Phoenix # 2)
mciai2000
SuperHero Member
******

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 09/2011
Model: 2552
ModelYear: 2012
Slide: Yes
IntColor: grey
ExtColor: full body night shadow
Location: Pennsylvania
________
Posts: 360



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2012, 06:44:36 pm »

 Cheers  to GOPhoenix.  That was the ticket.  We used the mh last weekend and as you guessed, the fan was on low.  We turned it to auto and the system worked like a charm.. 

David
Logged

family is a passion...work is a requirement
2012 2552 full body paint(Phoenix # 2)
GoPhoenix
Hero Member
*****

Helpful Rating: 41
________
OwnPC: Yes
NewUsed: New
PurchDate: 12/2010
Model: 3100
ModelYear: 2011
Slide: Yes
IntColor: Slate grey/Cherry
ExtColor: Full body grey
Location: Trenton, Ohio
________
Posts: 192



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2012, 08:34:00 am »

So glad that helped.  Arent I smart? Embarrassed Well, not really.  I had the same problem and The Grand Poobah (Kermit) clued me in.  Great to have this forum to share problems small and big that can be solved.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2012, 08:38:45 am by gophoenix » Logged

I remember very few of the things that Ive spent money to buy, but I remember all of the places that Ive spent money to see.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Print
 
Jump to: