Cruisers Forum

Main Forum => General Discussion => Topic started by: billy on June 27, 2011, 09:02:29 pm

Title: scan gauge
Post by: billy on June 27, 2011, 09:02:29 pm
OK lets start something new. Has anyone purchased a scan gauge??????

And if so are you happy with its performance????
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on June 27, 2011, 09:43:26 pm
I keep looking at the ones on eBay but appears to be a price fixing or price support, so I haven't bit yet.  I will reiterate what they told me by email that it can/will report transmission temperatures which probably would be my use for it, among all the other stuff it can do.

L.  G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: billy on June 27, 2011, 11:49:16 pm
"Hello L.G.

   Thank you for your inquiry. The ScanGaugeII does report transmission temperature in real-time. Transmission temperature is currently only available for Ford, GM, and some VW vehicles. Please let me know if you have any further questions.

Regards,

Leah O'Campo
Director of Communications
Linear Logic
1.888.433.5664"

This was posted on another thread.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on June 28, 2011, 10:15:54 am
Thanks Billy, I had forgotten posting the message.
Bye the bye, I have no financial interest in or tout the company.
L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on June 28, 2011, 04:18:08 pm
I keep looking at the ones on eBay but appears to be a price fixing or price support, so I haven't bit yet.  I will reiterate what they told me by email that it can/will report transmission temperatures which probably would be my use for it, among all the other stuff it can do.

L.  G.


Ok, Billy now you've done it.  One seller offer free shipping, no tax, and a free windshield mount and I just sold a couple of gunstocks,  so being flush with pennies I jumped off the pier and ordered one.  We'll see how it goes, supposed to be here in a couple days or so.  The new X-gauge program capability is what finally sold me.  If you look at Scan Gauge site they have a .pdf file that lets you in on all the info that is available in the Fords little pea brain.

Not so pea brained actually-when I went to work for "BigOIL" we had the 2nd largest IBM 360 system (1st largest civilian, only behind DoD) in the USA.  The Ford computer (and my desktop/and laptop) have more storage and computing power than BOTH 360 systems had then.  Shoot my cell phone has more storage than BigOIL had, in the entire company.

Such is progress and the aging process.

L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: billy on June 28, 2011, 06:14:33 pm
Great, who was this seller?  Keep us informed.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: gl1500 on June 28, 2011, 06:22:55 pm
I posted a while back that I had installed a Scan-Guage.  I find it very useful to identify the best speed for conditions to get the best fuel mileage.  It will show actual real time mileage and average at the same time.  There are a myriad of different read-outs available through this device.  One of the best is the time or distance to empty.  This is installed on our 2011 E450 2552 w/s and mileage varies between 8.5 and 11.
          Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on June 28, 2011, 10:23:54 pm
 One of the best is the time or distance to empty.

Good to know, my gas gauge is not the most accurate below a quarter tank, when there should be something around 13-14ish gallons left, it doesn't always come to that end point when I refill..

L. G.

P.S. 3n1autocomputer on eBay is the seller.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: bobander on July 08, 2011, 10:56:36 am

Ok, Billy now you've done it.  One seller offer free shipping, no tax, and a free windshield mount and I just sold a couple of gunstocks,  so being flush with pennies I jumped off the pier and ordered one.  We'll see how it goes, supposed to be here in a couple days or so.  The new X-gauge program capability is what finally sold me.  If you look at Scan Gauge site they have a .pdf file that lets you in on all the info that is available in the Fords little pea brain.

L. G.
I posted a while back that I had installed a Scan-Guage.  I find it very useful to identify the best speed for conditions to get the best fuel mileage.  It will show actual real time mileage and average at the same time.  There are a myriad of different read-outs available through this device.  One of the best is the time or distance to empty.  This is installed on our 2011 E450 2552 w/s and mileage varies between 8.5 and 11.
          Bob


L. G.  & Bob,

I am about to order one myself, have either of you determined if it can really monitor transmission fluid temp?

Thanks, another Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 08, 2011, 11:55:35 am
Bob,
I am fighting a gunstock refinish right now and have not installed the one I received. The last one I did took four coats and strips because I could not get it "right", and this one is headed in the same direction.  Both Remingtons, thank you Remington.

The only info and the reason I ordered one, is the ScanGuage factory person stating in an e-mail that it would in fact report transmission temperatures on Fords.
They have the pdf. files on-line with the info needed to program it to report tranny temps, I just have not had the time/inclination.  It looks to be such a simple procedure that I believe half a day will cover it, probably 2-10 days when you take into account that you have to figure out where to mount the read-out.  Or at least in a tight space that is my outlook.  It uses the telephone(?) type connector on the read-out so mounting in a place that requires removal should not be a problem.  In these kind of installations it always seems to me that routing the cables [(neatly) out of sight] is the biggest concern.

L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: billy on July 08, 2011, 12:23:51 pm
LG, where do you plan on install? If you use the glass mount, in the lower left corner, you can run the wire in and around the windshield post. My mirror  temp died. I call the manufacture, he determined there was a short in one or both wires to mirror. I found the shorted wire and replaced it. I ran the wire in the over head to the windshield post and down from the.    (cheer)   It works just fine. Anyway that's one place to run your wire. On our dash we have, above the radio and A/C duct a small compartment and something for change, might try to install mine there?????
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: bobander on July 08, 2011, 01:20:05 pm
LG,
I saw that info you posted above from the factory and have since found the X-Gauge code on their website for the trans temp, I just wanted to be sure by checking with actual users.  I will probably go ahead and order one, did you get good service from 3in1autocomputer on Ebay and was it in fact the latest version, 4.05?

I agree, where and how to mount it will be the challenge.  It needs to be readily accessible to be able to push the buttons while driving if you need or want to change a readout, I am sure I will be playing with it, much to my wifes dismay.

Billy,
Regarding that "small compartment and something for change", I tried removing it when I needed to get to a factory connector behind it to hook up a brake controller for my toad.  I could never get it out without breaking it so I had to find the wires under the dash.  Hope you have better luck or go ahead and break it to get it out if you will not reuse it and cover the hole with the ScanGauge.

Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 08, 2011, 05:07:34 pm
Billy, Bob,
It's still laying on the drivers seat for the moment.  Sticks in my mind (read it somewhere?)  that either ScanG' or another has a direct sunlight temperature problem,
and I really do not doubt that.  The windshield location is not very conducive to installing electronics there. 

The seller on eBay that I bought from did a drop ship from ScanGuage and he claimed in the auction that it was the latest and greatest, so I went on faith that it's the newest one.  Next time I go to the shop I will check its ver.. IIRC it came USPS Priority in 2-3 days from AZ to OK.

Keep it up with the questions guys and you will embarrass me into getting with the program and installing it, ha ha.

L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 08, 2011, 05:28:31 pm
I will probably go ahead and order one, did you get good service from 3in1autocomputer on Ebay and was it in fact the latest version, 4.05?

Bob,
I just checked on the stock project and the ScanGuage version number, and sans better info as to where to look, the only ver.# I saw was on the manual and it is: Ver. 6.0.
Hope this helps.
L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: bobander on July 08, 2011, 05:45:12 pm
I will probably go ahead and order one, did you get good service from 3in1autocomputer on Ebay and was it in fact the latest version, 4.05?

Bob,
I just checked on the stock project and the ScanGuage version number, and sans better info as to where to look, the only ver.# I saw was on the manual and it is: Ver. 6.0.
Hope this helps.
L. G.

LG,
According to the manual I downloaded, the version number is displayed when you step through some screens, since it is drop shipped from the factory it should be the newest.  Also, you are right, the manual says not to put in direct sunlight as the display will be temporarily affected at higher temps.
Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: billy on July 08, 2011, 08:43:04 pm
OK Bob, I will look elsewhere. Darn pyho
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: aimee on July 08, 2011, 09:25:20 pm
Bob has had some trouble getting this image posted, so I'm putting it in for him.

This is his 2011, E450, 2552

Cheers!



Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: gl1500 on July 08, 2011, 09:47:05 pm
Aimee,
   Thank you for the help.
        Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: bobander on July 09, 2011, 12:22:21 am
Bob has had some trouble getting this image posted, so I'm putting it in for him.

This is his 2011, E450, 2552

Cheers!


Looks good Bob, please tell us how you mounted it to the dash and how you routed the cable.  I see the cable goes into the black plastic storage piece, did you remove the piece or drill a hole in it in place?  I could not get the plastic storage piece out for another project.

another Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: gl1500 on July 09, 2011, 08:15:53 pm
Bob,
    The black plastic storage area pops out.  Use a small straight slot screwdriver, place something thin but solid between the blade and the colored dash plastic and insert the blade at the bottom, in my case I used the passenger side lower corner of the storage area.  Gently apply pressure to the storage area and it should come right out.  The coating that is on the dash for color is fragile, that is why you need something solid to pry on.
     The unit plugs in to the receptacle at the bottom of the steering column.  I routed the cable up from behind the dash to the area of the removed storage container.  Used plastic ties to secure the cable out of harms way.  I drilled a hole in the drivers side upper corner of the  storage container and removed enough material so the cable is not actually having to pass through a hole but more of a slot.  I velcroed the Guage to the dash.  Let me know if you need more info.
    Bob 
     
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: bobander on July 09, 2011, 11:31:49 pm
Bob,

Great description of what you did, especially how to get the storage piece out.  I like your install and I will be doing exactly the same.

Thanks, Bob A
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 14, 2011, 12:43:31 pm
rmmpe,

I have not.  Did mow the lawn though.  And finished the stock, nice.  I am in the hub of hell when it comes to travel, e.g., at least a day of !00F+ in any direction.  Once I sit down for the heat the PC is not high on my list of projects, and for now we are looking at sometime in September to travel out of here.  I just don't strain equipment and that kind of travel temperature strains the PC, me, and wifey.  I'll get to it.

L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: Bob Mahon on July 14, 2011, 02:37:16 pm
lghjr,

I completely understand. The high temps get to me too.

If you get the chance, PM me (rmmpe@yahoo.com) with what you plan to do/display with it (I'm almost ready to jump).

Stay cool and safe.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: billy on July 14, 2011, 03:55:11 pm
L. G.There's always tomorrow.     (WH)
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 14, 2011, 05:43:43 pm
Billy, rmmpem, Bob,

Ver. 4.05, I have a cansf protocol on a 2007 E-450 v-10. 

Installed behind the turn signal lever, inline with the blank spot below gauge in instrument cluster, the cable runs along the steering column cut-out and then underneath the knee panel(?) to the plug.  Wrapped the excess cable and tucked it under a the steering column brace.

Every thing came up roses with no problems on the first try.  The Scan Guage stuff is intuitive and kinda like plug-n-play add on's for your computer. 

I have not gotten to the transmission temperature part yet, maybe after dinner and I will try for pictures too.

Mounting options were very limited on my unit as far as I was concerned to basically one, and that was after going through the various scenarios at least twice over 30 minutes or so.  You can tell that I put a lot of thought into it, right?

L. G.

PS Having the AC on in the PC made this bearable at 103F.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: Bob Mahon on July 14, 2011, 06:03:57 pm
LG,

I responded to your PM but forgot to ask where in OK you live (I lived in Broken Arrow for 5 years and loved it).
The place just two-stepped its way into my heart.

Please keep the info coming.

Thanks.

Bob
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 14, 2011, 07:25:13 pm
I have pics but don't know how to size them so they will post, seems my pictures exceed the allowable.
Tulsa, Southside.

L. G.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: Bob Mahon on July 14, 2011, 07:44:44 pm
One of my offices was on E. 33rd & Memorial & the other in No. Tulsa (E. Apache).
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: lghjr on July 14, 2011, 07:53:59 pm
Pictures:
None of the E-450 guages are obscured, I just did not get the camera angle correctly lined up.
Title: Re: scan gauge
Post by: Bob Mahon on July 14, 2011, 07:58:37 pm
That works.