Hello Guest

Hydraulic Jacks and Frame Bending

• 16 Replies

Michelle Dungan

Hydraulic Jacks and Frame Bending
« on: October 02, 2016, 03:41:31 pm »
Growing up with Dad's travel trailers and now his old Roadtrek, I have no experience with hydraulic leveling jacks, but have the impression that their range of motion is limited so they don't help on sites that are more than a little out of level, and that one must not try to compensate for a diagonally out of level site or you'll bend the frame of the chassis.  Some have claimed the Ford is strongest in resisting twist and that Chevrolet cut-away frame is weaker, but I wonder how much is hearsay based on comparing truck frames of a half century ago?  Some claim that no hydraulic jacks should be used on any Class C, and that they are really only safe for Class A on medium-duty truck frames, or heavier.  Any thoughts on any of this?  Any PC owners with problems?

Chihuly

• View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: New
  • PurchDate: November 2016
  • Model: 2552
  • ModelYear: 2016
  • Slide: Yes
  • IntColor: Nightscape
  • ExtColor: Black
Re: Hydraulic Jacks and Frame Bending
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2016, 07:14:36 pm »
No problems and I love mine!! This is my first rig with levelers and with how we travel and where we like to go I would never not have them now.

RheaNL

• View Profile
  • PurchDate: October 4, 2012
  • Model: 2100
  • ModelYear: 2013
  • IntColor: Dusk
  • ExtColor: Dusk lower
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2016, 09:51:38 pm »
There is another extensive thread on "to have HWH auto levelers or not" with lots of good information. We have them on our 2100 and love them. You are correct about them not being intended to correct terribly out of level sites. They don't work like a car jack and you should never lift the tire off the ground. What I love is the tweeking of the level and that the unit stays stable in wind and when we walk about inside.
Don't know anything about frame torking.

HenryJ